Dr. Cathy Mincberg


Dr. Cathy Mincberg is the president and chief executive officer of the Center for Reform of School Systems.  She has worked at the forefront of public education reform both as a long-term school board member in the Houston Independent School District, community college trustee and as a high-level administrator in two urban districts.
Mincberg served four years as the chief operations officer for Portland (Oregon) Public Schools, where she led a massive reconfiguration of the district’s schools designed to improve student achievement and deal with budget constraints.  She also completed four years as chief business officer of the Houston ISD, transforming the business operations of the country’s seventh largest school system into a high-performing operation.  In addition, Mincberg has worked as the chief academic officer and vice president of KC Distance Learning in Portland, as founder and president of the Center for School District Effectiveness, and as a biology teacher in Houston.

Mincberg was a member of the Houston ISD Board of Education from 1982-1995, serving as president in 1987 and 1990.  During her tenure, she co-authored the board’s A Declaration of Beliefs and Visions, with fellow board members Don McAdams and Rod Paige.  The reforms defined in this policy document led to Houston ISD’s winning the first Broad Prize in 2002.
Over the years, Mincberg has served on the boards of various organizations, including the Boys and Girls Clubs of Greater Houston and Portland, the American Leadership Forum, Communities in Schools—Houston, the American Jewish Committee, and the SPARK city-school district collaborative for parks. In addition, she was the owner publisher for the Quorum Report, the preeminent non-partisan newsletter on state politics in Texas.

Mincberg earned her Doctor of Education in educational leadership from the University of Houston with a Masters and BS from the University of Texas - Austin.

Contact by email at mincberg@comcast.net or mincberg@crss.org


Biology teacher


School board trustee

Community college    


Chief business officer

Chief operating officer

Chief academic officer

President and CEO